Named for Harry Trowbridge, the founding curator/director of the Wyandotte County Museum in 1955, this gallery showcases his archaeological collections of Native American artifacts. Many of these Hopewell artifacts were discovered in the vicinity of 61st Street and Leavenworth Road, which is now a listed archaeological site on both the Register of Historic Kansas Sites and National Register of Historic Places, 14WY1. In addition to the museum displays, the gallery has been renovated to include hands-on educational stations for kids of all ages!


The Barker Gallery looks at the stories of the three immigrant tribes of Wyandotte County; The Shawnee, Delaware and the Wyandot. In the 19th century, these immigrant tribes migrated to the area of present day Wyandotte County. Highlights of the museum collection on display are a mid-1800s dug-out canoe, the Conley Sisters double-barrel shotgun and the tool chest belonging to James Parr, the first mayor of Wyandotte City (predecessor of Kansas City, Kansas).

Links for more information:

pic1 pic2 pic2 pic2

Click on a thumbnail for a larger image.


The East Gallery highlights the four Townships of Wyandotte County that were established in the mid 1800s; Wyandotte Township, Quindaro Township, Shawnee Township and Prairie/Delaware Township. Artifacts and historic photographs from these areas are on display, as well as an extensive KCKFD (Kansas City Kansas Fire Department) display including a 1905 Metropolitan Steam Pumper Fire Engine. Also on display are artifacts from the World War II NAA-K B25 bomber plant in Fairfax, a replica one room schoolroom and 1960s barber shop.

pic1 pic2 pic2

Click on a thumbnail for a larger image.